

New Mexico Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

Phone: (505) 983-5041 ☐ Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: nmsba@nmsba.org ☐ website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: June 12, 2018

School Boards and Administrators Attend School Law Conference Region Attendance and Student Scholarship Awards Announced

Approximately 600 school board members and education leaders from across the state attended the New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) 2018 School Law Conference at the Hotel Albuquerque, June 8-9. The conference focused on School Safety and the latest legal issues facing public education in New Mexico. The conference general and breakouts sessions served to assist and inform school board members and school administrators on many key issues including school safety, new legislative initiatives, student testing, special education, procurement and employee evaluations to name a few.

Region Attendance Awards

NMSBA took the opportunity at the conference to present the 2017-2018 Region Meeting Attendance Awards to eleven outstanding school boards that excelled in attendance and training at the Fall-2017 and Spring-2018 Region School Board Meetings. Award recipients are:

Region I	Farmington Board of Education
Region II	Questa Board of Education
Region III	Cimarron, Las Vegas City & Santa Rosa Boards of Education (tie)
Region IV	Los Lunas & Socorro Boards of Education (tie)
Region V	Grady School Board
Region VI	Artesia Board of Education
Region VII	Cloudcroft Board of Education
Region VIII	Lordsburg Board of Education

Award recipient photos available upon request.

Student Scholarship Awards

NMSBA's also announced their 2018 Scholarships Awards to twenty-four outstanding high school graduating seniors at the School Law Conference. Each will receive a \$1,000 scholarship to further their education. Nominations were received from school boards and selections were based on criteria including demonstrated leadership, academic performance, community involvement and extracurricular activities. The 2018 Scholarship Award Recipients are:

Region I Justis T. Hughs - Aztec

Amber G. Billie - Gallup Jadon R. Chimoni – Zuni

Region II Joseph P. Sena - Espanola

Michaelle Sutton - Los Alamos

Adrian Vigil – Pojoaque

Region III Reina J. Arguello - Cimarron Katie M. Shubert - Maxwell

Julia Trujillo - Wagon Mound

Region IV Davin R. Deuel - Bernalillo

Ismael Corral - Mountainair Holly L. Perez – Vaughn

Region V Landry Truex – Elida

Anna G. Pounds - Fort Sumner

Hayden L. Inge – Logan

Region VI Raquel Trevizo - Dexter

Kobe S. Gutierrez - Lovington Eden R. Wiggins – Roswell

Region VII Karen Navarro - Hatch

Joyce A. Cooper - Hondo Breck A. Gavin - Ruidoso

Region VIII Britney R. Gibson - Animas

Abel M. Chavez - Deming Xiomara Cruz - Lordsburg

Scholarship Recipient Flyer is attached and photos are available upon request

For additional information please contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director or Lorraine Vigil, NMSBA Programs Director at (505) 983-5041.