

New Mexico School Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 Phone: (505) 983-5041 Galier Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: jguillen@nmsba.org Galier website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: April 3, 2017

Contact: Joe Guillen (505) 983-5041

EXCELLENCE IN STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

The New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) today announced the recipients of the 2017 Excellence in Student Achievement Awards. The awards sponsored by NMSBA are presented to individuals selected by local boards of education throughout New Mexico who have played an important role in improving student achievement in their local school district. For additional information on the NMSBA Student Achievement Award Program please contact Joe Guillen, Executive Director at (505)983-5041. For specific information about award recipients, please contact the local school district. The fifty-seven (57) participating school boards and ninety-one (91) award recipients are listed below.

SCHOOL BOARD	RECIPIENT	
Alamogordo	Peg Crim	Community Member
Albuquerque	Rachel White	Teacher
Animas	Glennis Hayes	Staff
Aztec (2)	Tania Prokop	Administrator
	Judy Englehart	Administrator
Bernalillo	Martin Montano	Staff
Bloomfield	Amy Florez	Staff
Carlsbad	Deborah Beard	Administrator
Carrizozo	Dena Odell	Staff
Chama	Rayann Mora	Student
Cimarron	Adan Estrada	Administrator
Clayton	Brian Moore	Community Member
Cloudcroft	Chris & Traci Scott	Community Members
Clovis	Kalynn Baldock	Staff
Cobre	San Lorenzo Elementary	Staff
Cuba	Elizabeth Tyler	Librarian
Des Moines	Nan Whelan	Volunteer
Dexter	Larry VandenBout	Staff
Dora	Steve Barron	Administrator
Espanola	Los Ninos Kindergarten Center	Staff
Estancia (2)	Maria Chavez	Teacher
	India Encinias	Teacher
Farmington	Valerie Tulley	Administrator
Floyd	Sheri Chenault	Staff
Gadsden (5)	Maggie Romero	Staff
	Jennifer Park	Staff
	Mathew Madrid	Student
	Crystal Sanchez	Student
	Damian Sanchez	Student
Hagerman	Dink Denning	Staff
Hobbs	Jonathan Sarmiento	Student
Jemez Mountain (2)	Myra Martinez	Teacher
	David Fonken	Staff
Jemez Valley (2)	Marie Eloida Toya	Staff
	Jemez Valley Credit Union	Community Member

Las Cruces	Mike Milan	Community Member
Las Vegas City	Fraternal Order of Eagles	Civic Organization
Logan	Maureen Orgass	Staff
Lordsburg (6)	Dana Arredondo	Staff
5 ()	Sherrilyn Arredondo	Community Member
	Richard Chaires	Community Member
	Brian Culberson	Staff
	Ruthie Garza	Staff
	Ashley Saenz	Staff
Los Alamos (3)	Megan Lee	Staff
	Heidi Schembri	Staff
	Amy Bartlett-Gaunt	Staff
Los Lunas (2)	Patricia Powers	Staff
	Jeri Garcia	Staff
Loving	Chevron Gas Co.	Private Partner
Lovington	Robert Riggins	Staff
Magdalena	Sandra Saulsberry	Staff
Mesa Vista (9)	Azalea Griego	Student
	Business Office Support	Staff Members
	Consuelo Ortiz	Student
	Darien Halder	Student
	Edwin Gurule	Staff
	Jerralyn Terrazas	Staff
	Kimberly Vigil	Staff
	Maryssa Martin	Student
	Teresa Sandoval	Staff
Mana		
Mora	Joaquin Maestas	Staff
Moriarty-Edgewood	Amy Page	Staff
Mosquero	Bob Libby	Staff
Pecos	Bernadette Rael	Staff
Penasco (2)	Ben Sanchez	Staff
	Dorothy Lopez	Staff
Pojoaque	Sondra Adams	Administrator
Portales	David Stone	Community Member
Quemado	Carmelita Chavez	Community Volunteer
	Diane Leon	Teacher/Administrator
Questa (2)		
$\mathbf{P}_{\mathbf{r}}(\mathbf{r},\mathbf{r},\mathbf{r})$	Barbara Martinez	Teacher
Raton (2)	Nancy Poe	Retired Educator
	Richard Robilio	Staff
Rio Rancho	Don Schlichte	Past Board President
Ruidoso	Corazon Barsana	Administrator
Santa Fe	Interfaith Coalition for Public Educati	on Community Group
	New Mexico Dreamers in Action	Community Group
Santa Rosa	Anita Gonzales	Staff
Socorro (6)	Anton Salome	Administrator
		Staff
	Peggy Lopez	
	Sharon Sessions	Community Member
	Kim Schaffer	Administrator
	Jeanne Johnston	GRADS Director
	Socorro "Coyo" Wade	Staff
Springer	Christopher Casias	Student
Taos	Tanya Vigil	Volunteer
Tatum	Pilar Garcia	Staff
Tularosa	Cassandra Vickery	Student
West Las Vegas (2)	Carmen Baca	Retired Educator
	Valerie Villa-Lopez	Staff
		otan