

2020 NMSBA Recognition Award Recipients

24 Year Service Award

Ralph "Toy" Sepulveda - Cobre Board of Education



Ralph "Toy" Sepulveda was first elected to the Cobre Board of Education in 1992. His constituents have recognized Toy's outstanding leadership and commitment and recently elected him to a remarkable seventh term on the Cobre Board of Education. Toy has served as President, Vice President, Secretary and Member of the local board. Toy takes his responsibilities on the board very seriously and has dedicated himself to help improve educational opportunities for his students. Toy has been very active with NMSBA serving as Secretary-Treasurer, Region Officer, Member of the Resolutions Committee and Board of Directors. He is a Master Board Member and member of the Board of the Year on two occasions. He is retired from the USDA Forest

Service. He and his wife Delia are the proud parents of three daughters and proud grandparents as well. He is a true public servant and has made school board service a major part of his life.

Hall of Fame Award

Pauline Jaramillo - Socorro Board of Education



Pauline Jaramillo has served as a member of the Socorro Board of Education three terms. First elected in 2009 she served as Vice-President and member on her local board. She served as President of NMSBA's Region IV and member of the Board of Directors for several years. She was elected as the Association's Secretary-Treasurer, Vice-President, President Elect and in 2019 served as President. She has served on NMSBA's Executive, Resolutions, and Nominating Committees. At the national level she has served as a delegate to the National Delegate. Assembly and Western Region Meeting. She received the Outstanding Leadership, Leadership Development, Exemplary Training and Master Board Member Awards. In 2017 she received the

Outstanding Board Member of the Year Award. Pauline along with her husband Robert, who passed away recently, have a successful HVAC business and are parents of two children and six grandchildren. Pauline is a true example of what school board service in New Mexico is all about.

Board Member of the Year

Marvyn Jaramillo – Mesa Vista Board of Education



Marvyn Jaramillo has enjoyed a successful school board career since being elected to the Mesa Vista School Board in 2009. At the local level he served as Board President, Vice President and Secretary. At the Region level he served as Region II President for two terms and at the state level he served as NMSBA Secretary Treasurer, Vice President, and is currently serving as President Elect. He has also served on the NMSBA Executive Board, Board of Directors Resolutions and Nominating Committees. At the national level he served as a voting delegate to the National Delegate Assembly and Western Region Meeting. Marvyn believes in quality education and transparency within the school district and values the important role school board members play in being the voice of the community. Marvyn has three children and is a

supervisor with the Santa Fe County Sheriff's Office and is active with the New Mexico National Guard. Marvyn believes our children our future and is honored to receive this award.



2020 NMSBA Recognition Award Recipients

Board of Education of the Year

Small District: Cuba Board of Education



The Cuba Board of Education members are President Dianna Maestas, Vice President Taylor Pinto, Secretary Vivian Keetso, and members Elizabeth Martin and James Casaus. In her letter of nomination Superintendent Karen Sanchez-Griego praised the board of education for their commitment to the academic and social improvement of the students within their district. The Cuba board works as a collaborative team to ensure that students have an

equitable education that honors the students they serve - their rurality, their culture, language and heritage. The board is forward thinking and as a Yazzie Martinez plaintiff know the lack of sufficient funding for students undercuts the their future. The Board is active in local board activities, meetings, gatherings of several kinds, including attendance in cross intergovernmental relations that directly effect their students. They work closely with the Navajo Nation to ensure connections for students and families. They participate in all NMSBA functions and events at the state and region level and are active with NSBA at the national level as members of Hispanic and Native American Councils. Superintendent Sanchez-Griego says they put kids and community ahead of politics and take their responsibilities very seriously when making the hard decisions on policy and financial matters. They are truly deserving of this honor!

Large District: Farmington Board of Education



The Farmington Board of Education members include President Kyle Rhodes, Vice President Robyn Hoffman, Secretary Keith Corley, and members Stephanie Thompson and Joan Vallee. In his letter of nomination Superintendent Eugene Schmidt says there are many accomplishments to be

celebrated in the Board's commitment to excellence which begins with the district's *Rising to Excellence in Every Pursuit Initiative*. Importantly, the Board leads by example as noted by a District strategic plan that established five pillars of success, including improving student achievement. Through this process the district saw dramatic improvement in the graduation rate, a steady climb in the English Language Art performance, and a rapid rise of school report card grades from D and C to A and Bs. This systems-based approach was recognized with a Quality New Mexico Roadrunner Award an AdvancED district accredited school system, and Marzano Resources National Level 1 District Certification as a Safe, Supportive and Collaborative District. National recognition was also noted with a National Title 1 Distinguished School and a National Blue Ribbon School. These accomplishments do not happen by accident. It is the result of hard work, commitment to excellence, and a Board of Education that has chosen to make a difference. The Farmington Board is deserving of this recognition.